Everything2Stroke Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HEy guys..either im nuts or something else is up.

The deal is this... changed out the gear oil on my blaster, had it perfect (half way on sight glass)...drove it some, checked and its low...added more (to top of sight glass) drove it for a bit..checked and LOW once agian.. im about 99.9%sure im not leaking (garage floor is clean where it sits)... The only thing i can think of is its about 20 deg. F where im at in wisconsin and the oil is acting funny because its so thick..but not sure. Is it possible, any way ,i could be burning it somehow? Im new to the 2stroke scene (love 'em btw).

Any insight would be great.

·
Taking Names...
3,441 Posts
thats a great question. lol I think what the thing is is that as you ride the lube gets spread around the entire tranny so its sticking to the parts. Look where you add the oil it says add so much oil...puyt that much in, and change it once a month. You will be fine. And its ok if it rubns wihtout oil...i ran 2 tanks of gas through mine without tranny oil. It started squeeling. So I realized none was in, so some was added. Started it up and it was still squeeling. Put it into gear, and it never made the noise again. Split the cases later on....no metal fillings. The cases are bullet proof i swear lol.....

Where are you in wisconsin? I'm about 30 minutes east of green bay

·
Registered
202 Posts
dont you think hes running the wrong oil?i had the dame problem i put the wrong case oil in and it was eating it up and i heard my motor sqeal like u said sevy

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Im sure its the right oil..got it from the dealer, After i put it in, i just used the sight glass..ran it, it was low..filled it some more..ran it..low agian.. filled it some more., havnt drove it since.

Thanks for your info $evy..i 'll do what you said.

Anyhow, i live in Racine County (south-east Wi.)