Everything2Stroke Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I am fairly new to the Two-Stroke world, but got bit by the 2-smoke bug and don't think I could go back to the 4 banger machines. I was wondering if anyone could suggest some good 4x4 Two-Stroke utility quads? I am looking for a good Utility Quad and want to go the two-stroke route even if the quad is older gen. Thanks in advance for the replies.

·
2 stroke thinker
2,062 Posts
I just know that Polaris made a 2 stroker 2wd and 4wd quads. they worked with Suzuki and Kawasaki. There may be other models but..I don't follow the 2 stroke 4wd makes and models... Maybe...someone can chime in with some support !

·
Registered
29 Posts
Prior to around the year 2000 Polaris used Fuji single engines. The one you are looking for is the xplorer or sportsman 400. The ones you'll be looking at have the tale tell oil injection tank in the front hood and say "400 liquid cooled" on the side. They also made 250's and 300's (and 330's etc etc etc) but they all paled in comparison to that 400 engine..... I built a scrambler 400 4x4, on new bearclaws it was skeery. In 4wd, it would spin all 4 tires on a hardpack trail while it shot forward. It would QUICKLY outrun its brakes, headlights, steering, suspension.... pretty much all other systems!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Prior to around the year 2000 Polaris used Fuji single engines. The one you are looking for is the xplorer or sportsman 400. The ones you'll be looking at have the tale tell oil injection tank in the front hood and say "400 liquid cooled" on the side. They also made 250's and 300's (and 330's etc etc etc) but they all paled in comparison to that 400 engine..... I built a scrambler 400 4x4, on new bearclaws it was skeery. In 4wd, it would spin all 4 tires on a hardpack trail while it shot forward. It would QUICKLY outrun its brakes, headlights, steering, suspension.... pretty much all other systems!