Everything2Stroke Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to 2-strokes. I just bought a 1987 polaris Cyclone 250x. The guy I bought it from said the automatic oil injector failed, so he just started pre-mixing his fuel. The problem I have is he said he was putting 8 oz of oil for every gallon of fuel. I may not know too much but that sounds like alot! when I ran it it filled my garage with smoke. I cant find any info on what ratio to mix. What do you guys think? he said it was bored .020 over, if that makes a difference.

·
Registered
396 Posts
we mix our oil roughly around 1 pint to 3 gallons, which i think is about 28:1 or 30:1 or somewhere around there if im not mistaken.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Is it okay to use regular gas and any 2 stroke oil, or should I be running premium and good synthetic 2 stroke oil?

·
Old School but still Cool
2,842 Posts
That is twice the oil needed. It didn't hurt the engine much, but I bet it fouled more than a couple of plugs. Use half that amount per gallon and you can't go wrong.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
He took the Injection gear out and I bekieve put some kind of plate on it and removed the tank. I have a new one that he gave me, I may put it in sometime when I got the time. I haven't mixed any gas yet, just got the atv last week, and still running the gas that was in it.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Yea that guy was just wasting money, smoky son of a bitch. Tree huggers would have love to chew your ass if they seen that fucker running. 4 ounces per gallon is 32:1 and that is plenty. Use Premium fuel and get you self some Klotz Techniplate. You won't go wrong with that.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Post a few pics. I have never seen one of them.

·
Registered
14,217 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #12