Everything2Stroke Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i picked up my first quad, a 2002 Blaster, a couple of months ago. I mostly use it for trail riding with my friends. My friends are sporting a Suzuki LTZ400 and an Ozark 250. Now I am a total beginner, but I learn fast and while I found the Blaster to be rather unforgiving with the short gears initially, now I have it down. I can blow the Ozark away in a race of course, but the 400 is more of a challenge...

There are a couple of things I have noticed, and perhaps someone here can offer some advice.... I hope.

(1) When the bike is cold, my brakes squeak. This is a recent development, after maybe 25 hours of riding. Should I be concerned about that?

(2) I sometimes get sticks and other debris stuck in the bike, so I think I need a skid plate of some sort. If I were to get one skid plate, what would you suggest?

(3) I think I want some nerf bars. I just want something to prevent debris spinning off the tires onto my feet and legs. What do you think I need for that?

(4) There are add-ons.... so many that I just don't know where to start. What would you add to a stock blaster to make it a better trail bike?

Thanks for any advice.

·
Premium Member
8,580 Posts
I think your on the right track for mods. For the Skid Plates GYT-R Makes some really nice skids. You should get A-Arm Guards, Full Skid and a Swing Arm Guard. The Nerf Bars I would look at getting a set of AC ProPeg's. They are the nices set I have seen out there. All that there is going to run you a pretty penny. If you decide you want more after that Look at getting an aftermarket pipe. To beat a 400 you would atleast need a Pipe kit and maybe a set of Reeds and rejet to run with out the airbox lid.

It is very wise to get skids before you get anything else. Protect your investment before you make it faster. Nothing worse than a big rock smashing your frame.