Everything2Stroke Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am somewhat new to riding 2 strokes. I have a completely worked 06 400ex but I wanted a 2 stroke to rip around on so I picked up a 91 250 quadracer. It runs great (new OEM cylinder and OEM piston). I had my local mechanic replace the crank seals a few months back and he said the motor runs great and really strong. Anyways, I took it out for the first time yesterday and had a blast but I got to tell you. My feet and hands are sore from all the vibration this thing puts out at high revs.

Everything has been torqued and tightened but the vibration is a killer compared to my 400ex.

Are there any tricks to cut the vibration in the handle bars. For my feet, I was thinking of installing some rubber bushings where the step pegs bolt to the frames.

Will a steering stabilizer stop the handle bar vibration?

Any ideas?
Any ideas?

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
it will help, but a cheap thing I've heard of trying, is to go buy a spray can of that "great stuff" expanding foam, and spray that into the hole in the end of the bars till it comes out the other side, let it dry out, and then cut the excess off and put the grips back on. Never tried it, but I hear it helps

·
point thief
2,006 Posts
i dont know for sure, but it almost sounds like your counterballancer is off, least thats what i think.

·
Registered
87 Posts
I agree with tecateboy, bacause mine doesn't vibrate that bad, it does some I guess but not as bad as you discribe and I rape mine like there's no tomorrow, if you're in doubt put the thing at tdc, take the chutch cover off and make sure your timing dots are lined up on the crank and the balancer, if it is not fix it becauseit can cause a premature break down, and I sure you don't wanna be singn' the 2stroke blues.

·
Lost Thoughts
391 Posts