Everything2Stroke Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Lt 500 Jetting

I recently bought a Quadzilla and had it rebuilt. I went with the 517 Wiseco kit in the rebuild. Well it had no airbox with the Uni filter directly on the carb and it would break up on the top end so I thought that was the cause and put the stock airbox setup on it. It still breaks up so Im guessing its the jetting at this point. It has the stock Mikuni carb from what I was told by previous owner, FMF exhaust, and I put new Vforce 3 reeds on it. I took the carb apart and the large jet says 380 and the smaller one says 52. (Sorry Im new to carbs, other bikes are fuel injected). Well what do you guys think I should run in the carb with the mods I have? Thanks for the help. The bike is a monster down low and I can only imagine how fast it will be with the correct tune. Posted a pic of the jets and carb.

Attachments

·
Registered
572 Posts
Couple things you're probably not going to want to hear but if you want to do it right then it is what it is. First off you need to leak test the engine, you will never be able to jet it properly with air leaks and I can just about guarantee you have one or two somewhere. I know where these things leak and still find leaks after I rebuild one most times.

Second, you need a new slide. That one is well past worn out, you'll never get the jetting right with that either. Don't buy it from Suzuki, you will pay twice as much as buying from Sudco. Take a look at the carb rebuild thread I wrote that is stickied at the top of this page, I believe I have the part number for the correct slide in there.

Your jetting should be close, if it's idling ok leave the pilot jet alone and do a plug chop with it winding out pull in the clutch, kill the motor and coast to a stop then check the plug. Sounds like it might be a little rich.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3