Everything2Stroke Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Just rebuilt a 98 Blaster, and now it won't idle.
Here's the details.
Split cases, new crank bearings/seals, crank and rod were in spec, countershaft bearing, all seals all gaskets, clutch, clutch springs, and plates (fibers and steels), all new bolts, brand new cylinder(stock bore), ring gap is right on(.011 if I remember correctly). Everything is mechanically sound, I have no doubts.( I have been working on cars, bikes, atv's, 2 and 4 strokes for over 25 yrs, and I am a competant mechanic).
I am almost 100% certain it is a carburetor problem.
It has an FMF Fatty pipe and silencer, Boyesen Rad Valve with carbon fiber dual stage reeds, stator plate holes grooved to rotate clockwise and advance timing, flywheel turned in lathe and lightened 5 ounces, K&N style air filter with no airbox lid, using 100 octane with Klotz synthetic 2-stroke oil. Oil pump is still on and working properly.
As far as I know it is the stock carb(Mikuni) with stock jets, and air screw is 1.5 turns out/counter clockwise. Adjusting the idle screw either direction makes a small difference. A half turn out(leaner) chokes it and it dies almost instantly. Up to 2.5 turns out(richer) slightly improves it, but it still won't stay running. I am 800' above sea level.
Before the rebuild it ran and idled perfect, but, it did not have the lightened flywheel(no way that's the problem), did not have the K&N air filter(had a foam filter, still without airbox lid), it did have Boyesen cf dual stage reeds, but in the stock reed cage, no Rad Valve. Reeds in Rad Valve now are also a new set.
I am aware that now with the Rad valve and K&N air filter(coupled with the other mods), could cause a need for a jetting change, or needle adjustment.
However, I did not think it would cause it not to idle at all.