Everything2Stroke Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a tech at a chrysler dealer, and we've been getting TONS of the 6.7 cummins trucks in with turbo problems. Check engine light comes on....turbo doesnt spool...so no boost. Makes for a real dog-turd of a truck. Pull a code for No boost-mechanical failure. WHat happens is that the turbo and intake tubes and intake manifold soot up HORRIBLY, and the variable vanes dont operate properly, so the turbo basically goes into shutdown. Listen to chryslers fix #1....they give the dealers a special tool...listen to this....you unbolt the speed sensor from the turbo (after you take a bunch of shit off to access it) then you bolt the special tool in place of the speed sensor. The tool is actually a jig. Next you DRILL A HOLE INTO THE TURBO'S BEARING HOUSING! Then you use a different insert in the jig and tap the hole. Next you thread in an adaptor with a hose on it, and clean the turbo with special turbocharger cleaner, obviously non flammable or volatile in any way. you then plug the hole with a little pipe plug you could find at any Tom dick and harry hardware store. Clean all intake tubes and the manifold with their EGR system cleaner. Reassemble. Flash the ECM with an updated file. Check for proper operation. Roll it. Seemed like kind of a risky maneuver the first time I did it. THat jig they supply really is neat, it works awesome. you cant screw it up, other than drilling in too far. they supply collars for the drill bit and tap though to prevent that, but still, a risky maneuver for the new apprentice such as myslef...haha. This usually fixes them, but there's a second TSB for the trucks that come back AGAIN after the first TSB is done. Replace Turbocharger....haha Good thing these vehicles are under warranty...dealer cost on the turbo would be 1400 bucks....